Last updated: October 2026
The smart plug vs surge protector question usually starts the same way: one free outlet, two things you could put in it, and a vague sense that both are about “power.” The confusion is fair, because both sit in the same aisle with similar packaging. The short version is that they are not competing products at all. A smart plug controls when power flows. A surge protector limits how much voltage gets through. Neither does the other’s job, and picking only one of them leaves a real gap.
The Short Answer
If you only read one section, read this one.
- A smart plug is a switch. It turns things on and off on a schedule, by voice, or from your phone. It does nothing to protect what is plugged into it.
- A surge protector is a filter. It clamps down voltage spikes before they reach your electronics. It has no idea what is plugged into it and cannot be scheduled.
- No mainstream single-outlet smart plug has surge protection built in. Kasa, Tapo, Meross, Eve, Amazon and Wyze plugs have none. A few older or no-name plugs print “surge protection” on the box, but none publishes a UL 1449 rating, so treat that claim as unverified.
- Some smart power strips do include it, but the protection is usually weak, the specs are usually unpublished, and most of them cannot tell you when that protection has died.
- Most homes want both. The trick is wiring them in the right order, which is covered further down.
What a Smart Plug Actually Does
A smart plug is a remotely operated switch in a small box. You put it between the wall and an appliance, and from that point on you can schedule it, trigger it from an automation, ask a voice assistant to flip it, or watch how much energy the thing draws. That last feature is genuinely useful, and it is why smart plugs have become the cheapest way to make a dumb appliance a little bit smarter. If you are still fuzzy on what a smart plug is and what it is for, that is worth reading first.
What a smart plug does not do is protect anything. So to answer the question directly: is a smart plug a surge protector? No. Are smart plugs surge protected? Also no. These devices are listed as ordinary appliance and receptacle products. They are not tested or listed under UL 1449, which is the safety standard that actually governs surge protective devices. A smart plug has no metal oxide varistor, no clamping circuit, and no let-through rating, because protecting against transients was never part of its design brief.
It is worth knowing that the electrical ratings vary more than the labels suggest, even among plugs that all say “15 A” on the box. The Kasa EP25 is rated 15 A and 1.8 kW at 120 V with a 1/6 HP motor rating and carries a UL listing. The Zooz ZEN15 is 15 A and 1800 W with a 1 HP motor rating and an ETL listing, which is six times the motor capacity of the Kasa. The Emporia plug is rated 10 A continuous with a 15 A peak, and it will switch itself off for 24 hours if you exceed that peak, one of the less obvious reasons a smart plug turns off by itself. If you are putting a motor or a compressor behind a smart plug, those numbers matter a great deal more than the surge question does.
What a Surge Protector Actually Does
A surge protector is a Type 3 surge protective device, which is the industry’s term for point-of-use protection. The Electrical Safety Foundation International defines the three types plainly. Type 1 and Type 2 are permanently connected devices, with Type 2 installed in or beside the breaker box. Type 3 is “extra protection” and, in ESFI’s own words, “must be used in conjunction with Type 1 or Type 2 SPD to meet 2020 code requirements.”
That last clause surprises people. Since the 2020 National Electrical Code, all new and renovated homes are required to be protected by a listed Type 1 or Type 2 device at the panel. The power strip under your desk is supplementary by definition, not the main event.
Two things about surge protectors are worth understanding before you buy one:
Joules is the marketing number. VPR is the real one. UL 1449 does not specify how joules are tested and does not require manufacturers to publish the figure at all. The number the standard actually cares about is the Voltage Protection Rating, measured with a 6 kV, 3 kA combination wave generator. VPR comes in fixed steps: 330, 400, 500, 600, 700, 800, 900, 1000, 1200 volts and upward. Lower is better, and 330 V is the best available on a 120 V circuit. A protector rated 330 V starts limiting voltage far earlier in a surge event than one rated 1200 V.
They wear out, and they do not announce it. The varistors inside a surge protector are sacrificial. Every spike they absorb degrades them a little, and the damage accumulates until one day the device is still passing power perfectly while protecting nothing. The usual guidance is to replace a point-of-use protector every three to five years, or immediately after a known large surge. This is exactly why a protection-status indicator light matters, and it will come back in a moment.
One honest caveat that applies to every device in this article: no surge protective device of any type will save your electronics from a direct lightning strike.
Smart Plug vs Surge Protector Side by Side
Most of the spec sheet is noise. These are the differences that change a buying decision.
| Factor | Smart plug | Surge protector |
|---|---|---|
| Core job | Controls when power flows | Limits how much voltage passes |
| Protects against surges | No | Yes, within its rating |
| Governing standard | General appliance listing | UL 1449 |
| The number that matters | Amps, watts, motor HP | VPR, in volts |
| Scheduling and remote control | Yes | No |
| Energy monitoring | On many models | No |
| Wears out with use | No | Yes, varistors are sacrificial |
| Warns you when it fails | Not applicable | On good models, via an indicator light |
| Typical price | Roughly $10 to $25 per plug | Often under $15 for a solid basic strip |
The single most useful line in that table is the third one. A smart plug is certified as an appliance and a surge protector is certified under UL 1449, and that difference is not a technicality. It is the whole reason one of them can protect your television and the other cannot.
Smart Power Strips Are Where the Two Overlap
There is a real product category that does both jobs, and it is the smart power strip. This is what most people actually mean when they go looking for a smart plug surge protector. We cover how a smart plug compares with a power strip separately, since that comparison is about outlets and control rather than protection. These strips give you individually controlled outlets plus a surge protection circuit, and on paper that sounds like the obvious answer.
The published figures complicate that. Here is what the manufacturers themselves state, with two ordinary non-smart protectors included as a reference point.
| Device | Published surge rating | Stated as Type 3 SPD | Smart outlets | Matter | Energy monitoring |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kasa HS300 | VPR 500 V on all three legs | Yes | 6 | No | Yes, per outlet |
| Tapo P316M | VPR 500 V on all three legs | Yes | 6 | Yes, certified | Yes, per outlet |
| Kasa KP303 | Clamping voltage 1200 V | Not stated | 3 | No | No |
| Tapo P306 | Nothing published | Not stated | 3 | No | No |
| Eaton Tripp Lite SUPER7, not smart | 2160 joules, let-through 330/400/400 | UL 1449 listed | None | No | No |
| Amazon Basics 6-outlet, not smart | 790 joules, with indicator light | UL listed | None | No | No |

Three things fall out of that table, and none of them show up in the usual roundups.
First, protection varies by more than double inside a single brand. TP-Link publishes a 500 V VPR for the Kasa HS300 and the Tapo P316M, and a 1200 V clamping voltage for the Kasa KP303. All three carry the same “ETL certified surge protection” line in their marketing. If you buy on the marketing sentence rather than the spec table, you have no idea which one you are getting.
Second, a dedicated protector is in a different league. The Tripp Lite reference above is 2160 joules with a 330 V let-through. PCWorld’s teardown of the Tapo P306’s specifications puts it at 205 joules and 1200 V of clamping. That is roughly ten times the energy capacity and hundreds of volts lower let-through, for a device that usually costs less than the smart strip. The one smart strip that matched a dedicated protector on paper, APC’s PH6U4X32 at 2160 joules, is now listed as unavailable on Amazon.
Third, and worst, most smart strips cannot tell you when their protection is gone. Reviewing the P306, PCWorld noted that its varistor “will eventually wear out and cease offering surge protection, but you’ll have no way of knowing when that has happened,” and concluded that shipping unverifiable protection is worse than shipping none. Look back at the table: the basic Amazon Basics strip has the indicator light. The smart strips generally do not.
None of this makes smart power strips bad products. Per-outlet control and per-outlet energy monitoring are genuinely good features, and the P316M being Matter certified means it works across Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home and SmartThings without a vendor hub. Just buy one for the smart features and treat the surge protection as a bonus, not as the reason.
Can You Use a Smart Plug and a Surge Protector Together
Yes, but the direction matters, and this is the part almost every other guide gets wrong. The two arrangements are not equivalent.
Smart plug into a surge protector: this is fine. So, can you plug a smart plug into a surge protector? Generally yes. The smart plug is a single-receptacle device presenting one load to one outlet on the strip, which is not what the daisy-chain warnings are about. Keep an eye on the strip’s total budget, which is 15 A and 1875 W on almost every model, and remember that the smart plug contributes nothing protective to the chain. The same load arithmetic decides which appliances are safe to put behind a smart plug in the first place. It is just a switch that now sits downstream of the protection.
Surge protector into a smart plug: avoid this one. Once you do that, the strip is no longer plugged directly into a wall receptacle, and that is specifically what its listing requires. The UL White Book puts it plainly: “Relocatable power taps are intended to be directly connected to a permanently installed branch-circuit receptacle outlet. Relocatable power taps are not intended to be series connected (daisy chained) to other relocatable power taps or to extension cords.” You are also routing an entire strip’s worth of load through one plug’s rating and putting a relay in front of every device you were trying to protect. Daisy-chaining power strips also runs against OSHA rules and NFPA 70.

There are two clean setups. Either use one smart power strip with built-in protection and be done with it, or plug a proper surge protector into its own wall outlet and put the smart plug on a different outlet, feeding whatever single appliance you actually want to schedule.
One last practical note. Switching a smart plug off is not the same as unplugging. If a serious storm is coming and you want a device genuinely isolated, pull the plug out of the wall. That is the only thing that guarantees a physical break in the circuit.
Which One Should You Buy
Work from the job you are trying to do, not from the shelf.
- You want scheduling, voice control, automation, or energy data. Buy a smart plug, and if the energy data is the point, pick a plug that reports energy use. Surge protection is not part of this decision.
- You want to protect a television, a computer, a games console, or a network rack. Buy a dedicated surge protector and read its VPR before you buy. Aim for 330 V or 400 V, and pick one with a protection-status indicator so you know when it has expired.
- You want one device to do both. Buy a smart power strip, but check the spec table rather than the marketing copy. A published 500 V VPR is meaningfully better than a 1200 V clamping voltage, and the Matter-certified options save you from vendor lock-in. Our roundup of the best smart power strips is the place to start.
- You want the house protected properly. Get a Type 2 device installed at the panel and use point-of-use protection on the equipment that matters. Type 3 alone does not meet the 2020 code, and it was never designed to be the only line of defense.
The honest bottom line on smart plug vs surge protector is that the comparison is a category error that the packaging encourages. One is a switch and one is a filter. Buy the smart plug for control, buy the surge protector for protection, check the VPR on whatever you use for the latter, and replace it every few years before it stops doing its job without telling you.
Is a smart plug a surge protector?
No. A smart plug is a remotely operated switch, listed as an ordinary appliance device rather than under UL 1449, the standard that governs surge protective devices. It has no clamping circuit and no let-through rating, so it offers no surge protection at all.
Are smart plugs surge protected?
Mainstream single-outlet smart plugs from Kasa, Tapo, Meross, Eve, Amazon and Wyze do not include surge protection. A few older or no-name plugs mention it on the box but publish no UL 1449 rating. Some smart power strips do, but that protection comes from a separate circuit built into the strip, not from the smart plug function itself.
Can you plug a smart plug into a surge protector?
Yes, that direction is generally fine. The smart plug is a single-receptacle device drawing one load from one outlet, so it is not the daisy-chaining that safety guidance warns about. Just stay inside the strip’s total budget of 15 A and 1875 W.
Can you plug a surge protector into a smart plug?
Avoid it. UL’s guidance is that a power strip should connect directly to a permanently installed wall receptacle, and putting a smart plug in between routes the whole strip’s load through one plug’s rating. Daisy-chaining strips also runs against OSHA rules and NFPA 70.
Do smart power strips have real surge protection?
Some do, but it is usually weaker than a dedicated protector’s. TP-Link publishes a 500 V VPR for the Kasa HS300 and Tapo P316M but a 1200 V clamping voltage for the KP303, while an ordinary Tripp Lite strip is rated 2160 joules with a 330 V let-through. Most smart strips also lack the indicator light that tells you protection has worn out.